How to Delete Shared Photo, Content on Facebook Messenger

Facebook is one of the most famous social media and social networking sites. It makes everything easy for you to connect and share with family and friends online. Facebook is a platform where users can share various kinds of content, which can be text, images/photo, videos, gifs, links, and many others. Most of us can relate to the feeling of guilt when we send a message on Facebook by mistakes only to regret later. Whatever the reason be, sending a message by mistake, photos, videos, or texts with grammatical/spelling mistakes can alone leave you in complete embarrassment. Sometimes someone feels like the messages or photos should not have been sent and later they found it weird. Then they think about deleting messages or shared content. But most of the people, don’t know how to delete shared Photo, content from Facebook, and Messenger permanently.

So in this article, you’ll know about deleting all shared content, specific/all messages from Facebook or messenger, and how to delete shared content or messages from both sides on Facebook or Messenger.

Also read> How to Delete Facebook & Messenger Group

Note: You should know some information about deleting shared content from messenger directly. When you use *Delete* or *Delete conversation* option on messenger to delete the conversation, it will delete the chats from your side. But the problem is it’ll not delete shared content (Videos/images/Photo) from the messenger. When you text the person again, you’ll see shared contents are still there on ‘View photos and videos.’ Maybe it’s some kind of messenger bug. Hope they’ll fix it soon. So here are some methods for deleting shared content permanently from Facebook or Messenger.

Method 1: Delete shared content along with conversation from Facebook or Messenger permanently

To delete shared content (photos/videos) and conversation from Facebook or Messenger permanently, all you have to do is-

  • Go to mbasic.facebook.com
  • Log in to your account
  • Go the conversation that you want to delete
  • Scroll down, then you’ll see the *Delete* option.
  • Click on ‘Delete’

So finally, this will permanently delete the conversation history and shared photos/videos only from your side.

Then how to delete shared photos/videos from both sides on Facebook or Messenger? For this, follow Method 2.

Method 2: Delete shared content from both sides on Facebook or Messenger

To delete shared content from both sides on Facebook or Messenger, Follow these steps-

Read more> How to Block and Unblock Someone on Facebook and Messenger 

  • Go to Facebook Messenger.
  • Open the targeted conversation.
  • Find the photo or video you want to delete.
  • Tap & hold the photo or video you want to delete
  • Click on the ‘Unsend’ option.
  • Then you’ll see a tombstone in your message thread that says ‘you unsent a message’.

So by this, the shared photo or video will be deleted from both sides on Facebook or Messenger.

If you want to delete the whole conversation, you need more time. Cause it’s difficult to delete one by one from messenger and it takes lots of time. Still, if you want to delete the whole conversation from both sides and you are ready to give time on that, then follow these steps:

Read also> How to Delete Facebook Account permanently

  • Go to Facebook Messenger.
  • Open the targeted conversation.
  • Tap & hold the texts or photos you want to delete.
  • Click on the ‘Unsend’ option.
  • Then you’ll see a tombstone in your message thread that says ‘you unsent a message’.

By this, the message you sent to the person or the photo/video you shared with that person, will be deleted from both sides. So you have to delete one by one by following these steps if you want to delete everything from both sides. Take your time to delete everything.

Was this article really helpful?
YesNo

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here